Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

functionoverflu

Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by functionoverflu »

Hello,

I was researching tools that support behaviour tree visual editor and got recommended to Logic Toolkit.
I am trying to see if the tool fits our need with the trial version but I can't create the node from the very start.
The menu keeps showing "Loading..." and throw an exception.

Here is recording of the issue:
https://youtu.be/AjGOKa6Iawc

Error messages (contain some unrecognized characters, probably due to Japanese?):

Code: Select all

ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: key
System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue].FindEntry (TKey key) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue].TryGetValue (TKey key, TValue& value) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ,  . ⁢& ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ⁡.  ( . ⁍ , System.Collections.Generic.IList`1[T] ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ⁡..ctor ( . ⁍ , Mono.Cecil.CustomAttribute ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Collections.Generic.Collection`1[T] ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.TypeReference , Mono.Cecil.MethodDefinition ,  . ⁢ ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ⁍.  ( . ′ , Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ⁍.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.MetadataCache ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
□.□⁚.□ () (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
 . ‐.□ () (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.TypeMenuCreator.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor , LogicToolkit.Editors.AdvancedMenu , System.Type , LogicToolkit.Editors.FieldAssignor , System.Boolean ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor+  , System.Type , System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] , LogicToolkit.Editors.FieldAssignor , LogicToolkit.Editors.MenuNameType ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.FieldAssignor , LogicToolkit.Editors.MenuNameType ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.SelectScriptWindow.  (System.Threading.CancellationToken ) (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.SelectScriptWindow.CreateGUI () (at <b94f230b1d35446b9385dca1f1e93ddd>:0)
System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore+<>c.<ThrowAsync>b__7_0 (System.Object state) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
UnityEngine.UnitySynchronizationContext+WorkRequest.Invoke () (at <2431722e3e3e41d78b6718bb39ab9111>:0)
UnityEngine.UnitySynchronizationContext.Exec () (at <2431722e3e3e41d78b6718bb39ab9111>:0)
UnityEngine.UnitySynchronizationContext.ExecuteTasks () (at <2431722e3e3e41d78b6718bb39ab9111>:0)
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 108
Joined: 2024/03/26 01:56

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by caitsithware »

Hello,
Thank you for reporting the issue.

I tried to reproduce the issue, but was unable to do so.
The steps taken to verify the issue are as follows:
  • Create a Universal 3D project with Unity6000.0.43f1
  • Import LogicToolkit_Trial_1.7.2.unitypackage
  • Create a Logic Behavior object in SampleScene
  • Open the node creation menu in the graph view of the Logic Editor window
Are there any steps missing?

The exception content suggests that there is a problem with the API member information loading process.
It may take some time to identify which member is causing the problem.
For now, please create a new project and try again.

(The log contains unrecognized characters because the DLL is obfuscated in the trial version. The log will be displayed correctly in the retail version.)
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 108
Joined: 2024/03/26 01:56

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by caitsithware »

We have prepared a temporary package that will exclude members that cause exceptions.
Exceptions and warning messages will still be output to the log with this package, but we believe that this will resolve issues such as node creation.
Please download it from the link below and re-import it.

LogicToolkit_Trial_1.7.2_hotfix1.unitypackage

In addition, the warning message will contain information about the member that is causing the problem, so it would be helpful if you could include the content of that message and the definition part of the member in question (including any applied attributes. Processing details such as methods are not necessary).

This measure has not yet been applied to the retail version, so please wait until the next update.
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 108
Joined: 2024/03/26 01:56

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by caitsithware »

I noticed that there is a Hot Reload window in the reenactment video.
I don't have that so I don't know if it's related to this issue, but if such an asset performs a special reload, it may not work properly.
Please note that we cannot respond to issues caused by the mechanisms of other assets.
FunctionOverflu
Posts: 3
Joined: 2025/03/29 09:07

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by FunctionOverflu »

My Unity version is 6000.0.40f1
and yes, that was what I did. When I was testing it, I didn't have hot reload enabled.



However, I tried the hotfix you sent and the warning message did say it's caused by methods included in HotReload's assembly.
Is there any way to exclude certain assemblies from source generation for logic toolkit?
Screenshot 2025-03-29 102135.png
Screenshot 2025-03-29 102135.png (182.83 KiB) Viewed 100 times
P.S. due to the error, the menu is still stuck in "Loading...". But I managed to run it properly with a new test project.
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 108
Joined: 2024/03/26 01:56

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by caitsithware »

Thank you for your additional report.
FunctionOverflu wrote: 2025/03/29 09:29 However, I tried the hotfix you sent and the warning message did say it's caused by methods included in HotReload's assembly.
I don't have HotReload, so I can't find out what the cause is by looking at the method names in question.
Please let me know if you notice anything about the definitions of those methods.
FunctionOverflu wrote: 2025/03/29 09:29 Is there any way to exclude certain assemblies from source generation for logic toolkit?
Currently, there is no way to exclude specific assemblies.
We will consider whether to address this in the future.
FunctionOverflu wrote: 2025/03/29 09:29 P.S. due to the error, the menu is still stuck in "Loading...". But I managed to run it properly with a new test project.
With this measure, we catch exceptions and output two logs: the exception message and a warning message for the failed member, but the final number of errors seems to be two too many.
There seem to be other problems, but what are the error messages?
FunctionOverflu
Posts: 3
Joined: 2025/03/29 09:07

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by FunctionOverflu »

All of them seem to come in pairs, here is one of them:

Warning:

Code: Select all

Failed to build method GetProxiedShim in SingularityGroup.HotReload.MonoMod.Utils.Cil.ILGeneratorShimExt
UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning (object)
 . ⁍:  ( . ′,Mono.Cecil.TypeReference)
 . ⁍/ :MoveNext ()
System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback:PerformWaitCallback ()
Error:

Code: Select all

ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: key
System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue].FindEntry (TKey key) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue].TryGetValue (TKey key, TValue& value) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ,  . ⁢& ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.MethodDefinition , Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ,  .   ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.TypeReference , Mono.Cecil.MethodDefinition ,  . ⁢ ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
 . ⁍.  ( . ′ , Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
UnityEngine.Debug:LogException(Exception)
 . ⁍: ( ′, TypeReference)
 . :MoveNext()
System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback:PerformWaitCallback()
---
And there is the last error, which is the same as the original post i made:

Code: Select all

ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: key
System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue].FindEntry (TKey key) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[TKey,TValue].TryGetValue (TKey key, TValue& value) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
 . ⁍.  (Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
 . ⁍.  ( . ′ , Mono.Cecil.TypeReference ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
 . ⁍.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.MetadataCache ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
□.□⁚.□ () (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
 . ‐.□ () (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.TypeMenuCreator.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor , LogicToolkit.Editors.AdvancedMenu , System.Type , LogicToolkit.Editors.FieldAssignor , System.Boolean ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor+  , System.Type , System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] , LogicToolkit.Editors.FieldAssignor , LogicToolkit.Editors.MenuNameType ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.GraphEditor.  (LogicToolkit.Editors.FieldAssignor , LogicToolkit.Editors.MenuNameType ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.SelectScriptWindow.  (System.Threading.CancellationToken ) (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
LogicToolkit.Editors.SelectScriptWindow.CreateGUI () (at <0dcb8b7ba90f4d73b9604a4e40e9db60>:0)
System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore+<>c.<ThrowAsync>b__7_0 (System.Object state) (at <13c0c460649d4ce49f991e2c222fa635>:0)
UnityEngine.UnitySynchronizationContext+WorkRequest.Invoke () (at <2431722e3e3e41d78b6718bb39ab9111>:0)
UnityEngine.UnitySynchronizationContext.Exec () (at <2431722e3e3e41d78b6718bb39ab9111>:0)
UnityEngine.UnitySynchronizationContext.ExecuteTasks () (at <2431722e3e3e41d78b6718bb39ab9111>:0)
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 108
Joined: 2024/03/26 01:56

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by caitsithware »

In the image above, there are 48 warnings and 50 errors.
If the 48 are those pairs, the problematic member will be excluded and you should be able to proceed normally from "Loading...".
Of the remaining two, one is the initial post, but is the other an unrelated error?
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 108
Joined: 2024/03/26 01:56

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by caitsithware »

Also, if you have had Unity open since the first time you tried it, try restarting it.
FunctionOverflu
Posts: 3
Joined: 2025/03/29 09:07

Re: Tried to use the Trial version but failed to even create a node

Post by FunctionOverflu »

Ah sorry, the two extra ones were the same message (the last error message I sent).
It was caused by "Create Node" menu item. I tried it again after and it only showed the last message (no more method specific errors/warnings).

And yes, I did restart the project and the problem still remains.

Here you can find the full editor log if that's better:
https://gist.github.com/ta-david-yu/44f ... d54375ec9a
Post Reply